The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Jul 10th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL Delhi Daredevils return to losing ways, get thrashed by Kings XI Punjab

Delhi Daredevils return to losing ways, get thrashed by Kings XI Punjab

User Rating: / 0

The Delhi Daredevils made a swift return to losing ways, ending their 1 game winning streak just as quickly as they had begun it. Being put into bat, Delhi posted a significantly under par 120-7 in their 20 overs with the only significant contribution coming from David Warner, who chipped in with a handy 40.

Harmeet Singh justified his selection by becoming the wrecker in chief for Punjab, taking 3 wickets for just 24 runs, including the big wicket of Virender Sehwag for 23.

The Delhi batsmen failed to get any sort of a rhythm going with their batting, with only the aforementioned duo scoring at better than a run a ball.

Punjab lost the predictable early wicket of their woefully out of form skipper Adam Gilchrist for 6, but with the exception of that were largely untroubled in their chase. Mandeep Singh (24) and the returning Luke Pomersbach (18) added 44 for the second wicket in just about 4 overs to ensure that chasing down the target was going to be a walk in the park.

Both set batsmen fell on successive deliveries, but with the asking rate at under 5 an over, Punjab strolled to victory with 3 overs to spare. David Miller top scored with a patient 34, a very different innings from his belligerent assault on the Pune bowlers at the weekend, while the rest of the batsmen played around him to see Punjab to victory.

It's back to the drawing board for Delhi, who take on the Pune Warriors next in what could well be a battle for this year's wooden spoon. That match is on Sunday, while the Kings XI Punjab are in action on Friday when they travel to Kolkata to take on a struggling Knight Riders side which just can't seem to get its balance right.


Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Luke Pomersbach, David Hussey, David Miller, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Harmeet Singh, Bhargav Bhatt, Parvinder Awana

Delhi Daredevils: Mahela Jayawardene (c), Virender Sehwag, Roelof van der Merwe, David Warner, Manprit Juneja, Kedhar Jadhav (wk), Johan Botha, Irfan Pathan, Ajit Agarkar, Ashish Nehra, Umesh Yadav

Mini Scorecard:

Delhi Daredevils 120-7 (20 overs, 6.00rpo)

D Warner 40 (36) H Singh 3-24

V Sehwag 23 (21) P Kumar 2-29

Kings XI Punjab 121-5 (17.0 overs, 7.11rpo)

D Miller 34* (39) R van der Merwe 1-17

M Singh 24 (15) J Botha 1-23

Kings XI Punjab win by 5 wickets