The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Feb 23rd

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL Sehwag gets Delhi on the scoreboard with incredible unbeaten 95

Sehwag gets Delhi on the scoreboard with incredible unbeaten 95

User Rating: / 0

The Delhi Daredevils, registered their first win of the 2013 IPL season as they decimated a Mumbai Indians side that slipped to 3-3 for the season. Batting first, Mumbai posted a very competitive 161-4 from their 20 overs on the back of outstanding half centuries from Rohit Sharma (73 from 43 balls) and Sachin Tendulkar (54 from 47 balls). However, Delhi with a changed opening combination of Virender Sehwag (95* from 57 balls) and Mahela Jaywardene (59 from 43 balls) made mincemeat of the target, cruising to a win with 3 full overs to spare.

Ricky Ponting won the toss and made the easy decision to bat first on a Kotla track that was bound to get slower and lower as the game progressed. Both teams made three changes to their sides with Mumbai bringing in Dwayne Smith, Munaf Patel and Jasprit Bumrah with Mitchell Johnson, Pragyan Ojha and Rishi Dhawan the men to make way. Delhi meanwhile finally gave a game to the South African tweaker Roelof van der Merwe with the injured Jeevan Mendis sitting out, while Andre Russell replaced Morne Morkel. Venugopal Rao also returned from injury to take the place of the struggling for runs Manpreet Juneja.

The inclusion of Smith predictably meant that he would open the innings with Sachin Tendulkar, but the move failed to work out as Mumbai would have envisaged with the West Indian falling for just, caught at mid-off off Van der Merwe. Dinesh Karthik kept his place at no.3, but was unfortunate to be run out at the non-striker's end as Umesh Yadav got a good hand on a Tendulkar straight drive and deflected the ball onto the stumps. Mumbai were in trouble having crawled to 24-2 at the end of the powerplay.

Tendulkar (who benefited from being dropped off his own bowling by Shahbaz Nadeem) and Sharma stitched together a good partnership to rescue the Mumbai innings. The duo added 96 runs in the next 11 overs to propel Mumbai to a position of strength. Tendulkar made 54 before falling to Umesh Yadav, but Rohit Sharma (73) continued to smash the ball to all parts of the ground to take Mumbai through to an imposing 161-4 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

Delhi's start to the powerplay was in sharp contrast to Mumbai as Virender Sehwag finally came to the party. The legendary opener benefited from being dropped early by Bumrah to smash 39 from 24 balls as Delhi reached 60-0 at the end of the powerplay with Mahela Jayawardene playing the support role.

While Jayawardene did his best to keep pace with Sehwag, Viru was in a special mood, and celebrated his half century by saluting the fans who had kept faith with Delhi despite their abysmal run this season.

The runs flowed unabated for Delhi's new opening pair and a shocking rout now appeared a certainty. Delhi were maintaining a scoring rate close to 10 as Sehwag and Jayawardene found the boundaries with unerring ease.

Mumbai finally broke the opening partnership with Lasith Malinga striking with his penultimate delivery, trapping Jayawardene leg before for 59. Mahela's runs had come off just 43 balls and included 8 fours and a six, but such was the quality on display at the other end that his essay went largely unnoticed.

Sehwag finished the match off in the next over, ending unbeaten on 95 as Delhi stormed to a win with 3 overs to spare.

While a playoff spot for Delhi looks unlikely, they are likely to play massive spoilers as this tournament progresses. Mumbai on the other hand have now won 3 and lost 3 games, and will need to get back to the drawing board to figure out their ideal combination.

Delhi welcome the Kings XI Punjab to the Feroz Shah Kotla on Tuesday, and the home fans will no doubt be eagerly awaiting that game. Mumbai meanwhile head to Kolkata from here where they take on the Knight Riders on Wednesday.


DD: D Warner, V Sehwag, M Jayawardene(c), V Rao, R van der Merwe, A Russell, K Jhadav, I Pathan, A Agarkar, S Nadeem, U Yadav.

MI: S Tendulkar, D Smith, R Ponting(c), D Karthik, R Sharma, A Rayudu, K Pollard, H Singh, J Bumrah, M Patel, L Malinga

Mini Scorecard:

Mumbai Indians 161-4 (20 overs, 8.05rpo)

R Sharma 73 (43) U Yadav 2-31

S Tendulkar 54 (47) R van der Merwe 1-35

Delhi Daredevils 165-1 (17 overs, 9.7rpo)

V Sehwag 95* (57) L Malinga 1-26

M Jayawardene 59 (43)

Delhi win by 9 wickets