The Worlds Favourite Playground

Sunday, Feb 23rd

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL Delhi hammered again as Chennai pick up crucial win

Delhi hammered again as Chennai pick up crucial win

User Rating: / 0

The Chennai Super Kings began their march up the Indian Premier League table by inflicting an embarrassing 86 run defeat on a hapless Delhi Daredevil side that has now lost 6 straight games and for all practical purposes is out of the running just a couple of weeks into IPL 2013.

Batting first on winning the toss, Chennai posted an excellent 169-4 on what is usually a tough batting deck at the Feroz Shah Kotla. Michael Hussey, returning from his 'rest' day, carried his bat through the innings making an excellent 65 from 50 balls to anchor the innings.

At the other end, Murali Vijay (18) looked in exquisite touch before he was trapped leg before by Morne Morkel. Suresh Raina contributed a sedate 30 from 32 balls in an attempt to find some form before skipper MS Dhoni destroyed the Delhi bowlers, smashing 44 from just 23 balls to propel his team to a competitive score.

Delhi's innings in contrast was a complete shambles with just 3 batsmen getting in double figures once again. Virender Sehwag made a quickfire 17 before he became the third of 24-year old Haryana lad Mohit Sharma's three victims, while Kedar Jadhav continued to impress making 31 to add some semblance of respectability to the Delhi score.

The Chennai bowlers shared the wickets amongst them, and Delhi were bowled out for a very poor 83 runs to all but end their genuine participation in the tournament.

Delhi will hope that they can continue to count on the support of their home fans when they entertain Mumbai at the weekend with the 'Pondulkar' batting express coming to the capital for the 4pm kickoff. Chennai meanwhile continue on their road trip as they take the flight out to Kolkata immediately as they meet the reigning champions on their own turf in the early start on Saturday.


Chennai Super Kings: Michael Hussey, M Vijay, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, R Ashwin, Mohit Sharma

Delhi Daredevils: David Warner, Virender Sehwag, Manprit Juneja, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Jeevan Mendis, Kedar Jadhav (wk), Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ajit Agarkar, Umesh Yadav

Mini Scorecard:

Chennai Super Kings 169-4 (20 overs, 8.45rpo)

M Hussey 65* (50) I Pathan 1-30

MS Dhoni 44 (23) U Yadav 1-33

Delhi Daredevils 83 all out (17.3 overs, 4.74rpo)

K Jadhav 31 (28) M Sharma 3-10

V Sehwag 17 (13) R Ashwin 2-18

Chennai win by 86 runs