The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Jul 10th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL Chennai romp to easy 10-wicket win against ordinary Punjab side

Chennai romp to easy 10-wicket win against ordinary Punjab side

User Rating: / 0

The Chennai Super Kings bounced back from their narrow defeat at the hands of the Mumbai Indians by recording a thumping 10-wicket triumph against the Kings XI Punjab in a one-sided contest at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Wednesday evening.

Skipper MS Dhoni marshaled his resources effectively in the field to limit the Kings XI to just 138 after winning the toss and putting the home side in. Barring David Hussey's innings of 41 (36 balls) and Gurkeerat Singh's 31 (26 balls), Punjab barely put a foot right with the bat, and were bowled out a ball short of 20 overs.

Dirk Nannes struck twice at the top of the order to dismiss Adam Gilchrist and Mandeep Singh, while debutant Chris Morris took 2-27. Dwayne Bravo also chipped in with 3 late wickets to aid the Chennai Super Kings' cause.

The visitors knocked off the runs without losing a wicket with Michael Hussey leading the way with an unbeaten 86 from just 54 balls. Hussey's effort included 11 hits to the fence and two late ones over it, but the former Aussie great was fortunate to survive a very close run out appeal that in everyone other than the Umpire's opinion should have gone the other way. Hussey was also dropped off his own bowling in Piyush Chawla's first over, an exciting one in which Gilchrist also missed a stumping off Murali Vijay.

Those were the only chances that came Kings XI's way, and Murali Vijay dropped anchor making a run a ball 50 while Hussey attacked at the other end. CSK romped to victory in just 17.2 overs, doing their net run rate a world of good.

The Super Kings will next take on the Royal Challengers Bangalore on Saturday night, while Punjab head to Rajasthan to meet the high flying Royals on Sunday.


Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Michael Hussey, Suresh Raina, S Badrinath, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Chris Morris, R Ashwin, Ankit Rajpoot, Dirk Nannes.

Kings XI Punjab: Adam Gilchrist (c & wk), Mandeep Singh, David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh, Manan Vohra, R Sathish, Piyush Chawla, Praveen Kumar, Parvinder Awana, Ryan Harris

Mini Scorecard:

KXIP 138 all out (19.5 overs, 6.95 rpo)

D Hussey 41 (36) D Bravo 3-27

G Singh 31 (26) D Nannes 2-17

CSK 139-0 (17.2 overs, rpo)

M Hussey 86* (54)

M Vijay 50* (50)

Chennai win by 10 wickets