The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, Nov 26th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket T20 Internationals India T20 squad newcomers mirror Test selections

India T20 squad newcomers mirror Test selections

User Rating: / 0

In addition to picking the squad for the fourth and final test of the series against England, the All-India Senior Selection Committee also named a rather massive 15-man squad for the 2-match T20 series to be played against the same opposition later this month in Pune and Mumbai. The two noteworthy absentees from the squad - Zaheer Khan and Virender Sehwag - were unavailable for selection, giving the selectors an opportunity to draft in a few necomers.

There are no real surprises in the batting unit for the T20 squad, with Gautam Gambhir and Ajinkya Rahane expected to open the batting with a strong middle order in Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh to follow. Manoj Tiwary and allrounder Ravindra Jadeja will probably be warming the benches.

The bowling unit is interesting though with Ravichandran Ashwin and Piyush Chawla picked as the two specialist spinners, with the latter also being picked in the Test squad, but unlikely to feature in Nagpur. A four man seam attack has also been picked with Ashok Dinda and Laxmipathy Balaji the survivors from India's last T20 series, while Bhunvesh Kumar, who can bat a bit, and Parvinder Awana, who is also in the test squad for the first time, expected to provide back-up options.

The two T20 matches are scheduled on the 20th and 22nd of December.

Indian Squad for T20 Series: M.S. Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Laxmipathy Balaji, Parvinder Awana