The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, May 24th

Last update:05:07:05 AM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals England rotate key players for ODI and T20 Series against India, Pietersen misses out on Broad led T20 Squad

England rotate key players for ODI and T20 Series against India, Pietersen misses out on Broad led T20 Squad

User Rating: / 0

England selectors today named a 13-man squad for the two match T20 series against India next month as well as a squad for the five match ODI series against India in January. A noteworthy absentee from the T20 squad is former rebel Kevin Pietersen, who has been included in the One Day Squad.

Stuart Broad will lead the T20 side in a two match series with Surrey pace bowler Stuart Meaker the only player included in the squad not to have played a T20 match for England before. The other member of the 13-man squad who was not involved in England's recent ICC World T20 campaign is James Tredwell.

Those players not included in either the England Performance Programme or the England Test squad will join up with the EPP in Pune for a training camp ahead of the T20 series.

The five match ODI series begins on January 11 in Rajkot. Five players included in the squad did not take part in England's most recent ODI tour of India in 2011; Danny Briggs, Eoin Morgan, James Tredwell, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

National selector, Geoff Miller, said: "We know that playing limited overs cricket in India can be challenging but the T20 and ODI series provide an excellent opportunity for these players to show that they have learnt valuable lessons from the last ODI series against India and improved as players in subcontinent conditions. We have selected squads containing experienced international players alongside younger players who have impressed playing for England Lions and the England Performance Programme recently and who deserve an opportunity to establish themselves in the England side.

"We are constantly looking to manage the workload of players as effectively as possible and this winter is no different so there are number of players who are being rested for parts of the winter programme. This will enable them to take part in fitness and conditioning programmes in preparation for a busy 2013."

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (c) (Nottinghamshire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex)

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (c) (Essex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex),

Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Stuart Meaker (Surrey)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), James Tredwell (Kent), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire),

James Anderson (Lancashire) / Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) *