The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Feb 27th

Last update:03:52:25 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket IPL Caribbean Twenty20 changes to round robin format

Caribbean Twenty20 changes to round robin format

User Rating: / 0

Next year's Caribbean Twenty20 Tournament, to be staged from Sunday, January 6 to Sunday, January 20 in Trinidad and St. Lucia, will be played under a new format. The marquee, annual West Indies Cricket Board tournament will feature the seven regional teams – Barbados, Combined Campuses & Colleges, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, reigning champions Trinidad & Tobago, and Windward Islands – in 23 matches.

The seven regional teams will contest a non-elimination, preliminary competition, with a new route for the teams to reach the Grand Final on Sunday, January 20 at the Beausejour Cricket Ground in St. Lucia.

Each team will play each other once. The team which finishes with the highest number of points after all of the preliminary matches will automatically qualify for the Grand Final.

The teams which finish second and third will qualify for the Playoff. The winner of the Playoff will be the other side to play in the Grand Final.

The winner of the tournament will qualify for a place in next year's Champions League Twenty20.

"This format will allow the regional teams to increase the number of matches in a form of the game, which has become very popular around the World, and of which we are now World champions," said WICB Manager, Cricket Operations Roland Holder.

"It was previously four, but now there are six matches each. This is in keeping with the WICB's mandate to increase the amount of matches that teams are play at the regional level."

Reigning champions T&T will face long-standing rivals Jamaica in the opening match of next year's CT20 on home soil at the Queen's Park Oval on Sunday, January 6, following the official opening ceremony.

There will be two matches played on the succeeding days of the tournament before the Playoff on Saturday, January 19, and the Grand Final on Sunday, January 20.