The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Aug 29th

Last update:03:56:06 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals Australian squad announced for India - Sri Lanka tri-series

Australian squad announced for India - Sri Lanka tri-series

User Rating: / 0

The Cricket Australia National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 14-man squad for the first three games of the Commonwealth Bank Series. The Commonwealth Bank Series is the tri-nations ODI tournament which will be contested by Australia, India and Sri Lanka. Commenting on the squad, National Selector John Inverarity said the National Selection Panel (NSP) thought it provided a talented mix of experienced and proven performers with young players not yet experienced at international level.

"We want a flying start to the Commonwealth Bank Series against India and Sri Lanka and as always, have selected a group we are confident can win while also keeping an eye on development for the future," he said. "Peter Forrest, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Dan Christian and Clint McKay are in form and will have a chance to either prove or further prove themselves on the international stage.

"Brad Haddin has come off a heavy program of Test cricket – the workload for a wicketkeeper/batsman is rigourous and resting him for the start of the series will refresh him for coming international commitments while also giving us a chance to look at Matt Wade at this level.

"We have not at this stage named a vice-captain for the first three games with Brad resting and Shane Watson still unavailable while he completes his recovery from injury, and will assess that position when the squad assembles.

"Peter Forrest, in great form for Queensland and also for his KFC T20 Big Bash League side this summer, comes into the group but will remain available for the PM's Xl game in Canberra this Friday, where he is vice-captain to Brad Haddin.

"Shaun Marsh is obviously disappointed with his own form in recent weeks and is out of the side but remains in our thinking for the future while he works at state level – as they say, class is permanent but form can be temporary.

"Brett Lee had a terrific Big Bash League and with Ryan Harris provides the squad with the experience at this level that will benefit the broader fast bowling group, while Xavier Doherty's ability in this format speaks for itself.

"Mitch Marsh will be released from the squad for the first two ODIs to allow him to play in the BUPA Sheffield Shield match against Queensland as part of our planning for him to continue to benefit from long-form experience."

The Australian squad will assemble in Melbourne on Friday ahead of the Commonwealth Bank Series launch game against India at the MCG on Sunday.

The Squad: Michael Clarke (c), Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Peter Forrest, Ryan Harris, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Brett Lee, Mitchell Marsh, Clint McKay, Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner