The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, May 25th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket One Day Internationals Yuvraj, Harbhajan miss out on ODI Squad for Australia; Tendulkar, Irfan & Zaheer all in

Yuvraj, Harbhajan miss out on ODI Squad for Australia; Tendulkar, Irfan & Zaheer all in

User Rating: / 0

The Indian cricket team for the 2 T20 internationals and the tri nation series involving hosts Australia and World Cup runners up Sri Lanka was announced on Sunday night after the conclusion of the third test between India and Australia in Perth, earlier in the day.

There were a few surprise exclusions with India's World Cup hero Yuvraj Singh missing out despite claiming to be fit for the series. He was excluded from the side citing concerns over the extent of his recovery from the non-malignant tumor he was diagnosed with earlier in the year. The 22 year old  Ajinka Rahane, who impressed in ODI's against the West Indies earlier in the year also didn't make the cut while injured pacer Varun Aaron too was deemed unfit to be part of this series. The bowling attack though will be bolstered by the return of swing bowler Praveen Kumar, who first made his mark in Australia 4 years ago. Veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh continues to be ignored by the selectors, despite the indifferent form of young R Ashwin thus far on the tour.

Recently drafted in players Rahul Sharma and Manoj Tiwary, who impressed in the ODIs against the West Indies continue to be part of the side along with pace allrounder Irfan Pathan. India's pace spearhead Zaheer Khan and the little master Sachin Tendulkar have been drafted back into the one day setup for the first time since the 2011 World Cup, a move that adds some much needed experience to the otherwise young setup. Parthiv Patel keeps his place as the reserve keeper to MS Dhoni while lanky Delhi speedster Ishant Sharma continues to be kept away from the One day scheme of things. The composition of the squad is the same as that which played against the West Indies at home in the World Champions' last ODI assignment.

Squad: MS Dhoni (capt & wk), Gautam Gambhir, Parthiv Patel, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Praveen Kumar, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan.