The Worlds Favourite Playground

Thursday, May 28th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Cricket CLT20 Mumbai Indians permitted to field 5 foreign players in CLT20

Mumbai Indians permitted to field 5 foreign players in CLT20

User Rating: / 0

Mumbai's preparation for the CLT20 has been rocked by injuries. The long list of absentees includes Skipper Sachin Tendulkar(injured toe) and dashing batsman Rohit Sharma(fractured finger). Their bowling department also presents a depleted outlook as Munaf Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni and Ali Murtaza have been ruled out.

Following the spate of injuries the CLT20 Governing Council has given Mumbai the nod to field five overseas players in the lucrative tournament. Whereas the other franchises can add only 4 foreigners to their XI. The Mumbai squad comprises of 7 Indians and 7 overseas players. Andrew Symonds, Dilhara Fernando, Abu Nechim, Sarul Kanwar and Rajagopal Satish have been drafted into the Mumbai Indian's squad.

Mumbai, however, can play only cricketers who have been contracted by them to play in the IPL 2011. Since Moises Henriques is a part of the New South Wales Blues in the ongoing Champions League, he finds himself out of contention for selection. Andrew Symonds, the renowned all-rounder has brought gusto and firepower to the injury-torn outfit. This unabashed six-smasher is a rarity in the gentleman's game. Dilhara Fernando's red-hot bouncers and slower deliveries can ruffle up the batsmen. Whilst, Abu Nechim, Sarul Kanwar and R.Satish are useful players.

"In the current circumstances if Mumbai suffer one more injury to an Indian player, they will be unable to field a team in the CLT20 as per the rules of the tournament restricting teams to a maximum of 4 foreign players in a single match" the CLT20 organizers said in a media announcement. In order to maintain and ensure the integrity of the league the CLT20 governing council has agreed to offer Mumbai the luxury of playing 5 overseas players. Can the depleted outfit stir up a good show in the T20 carnival sans their first-choice players?

The Mumbai Indians will also be announcing their stand-in-captain very shortly.

Mumbai Indians Squad: Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, James Franklin, Andrew Symonds, Aiden Blizzard, Davy Jacobs, Kieron Pollard, Dilhara Fernando, Ambati Rayudu, Sarul Kanwar, T.Suman, R.Satish, Yuzvendra Chahal, Abu Nechim.