The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Aug 03rd

Last update:11:23:28 AM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Ivory Coast announce 23 member squad for World Cup

Ivory Coast announce 23 member squad for World Cup

User Rating: / 0
didier_drogba.jpgSven Goran Erikkson announced his 23 man squad on Tuesday traveling to South Africa 2010. The Swede has overloaded his team with strikers, striking out some crucial midfield players. He is obviously going to the World Cup with some attacking intent in mind.

Marseille striker Bakari Kone and West Bromwich Albion defender Abdoulaye Meite were notable omissions amongst the seven players dropped. Emerson Faye and Kanga Akale, both French League players were also unfortunate not to make the cut. Gilles Yapi Yapo, Lassina and goalkeeper Vincent Angban completed the 7 players ditched by the former English boss. Faye, Yapi Yapo and Kone played for Ivory coast in the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Ivory Coast are placed in the Group of Death with Portugal, Brazil and North Korea in this edition of the FIFA World Cup.


Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Daniel Yeboah (ASEC Mimosas), Aristide Zogbo (Maccabi Netanya)

Defenders: Sol Bamba (Hibernian), Arthur Boka (Stuttgart), Emmanuel Eboue (Arsenal), Siaka Tiene (Valenciennes), Kolo Toure (Manchester City), Guy Demel (Hamburg), Steve Gohouri (Wigan), Benjamin Angoua (Valenciennes)

Midfielders: Didier Zokora (Seville), Romaric (Seville), Cheick Tiote (FC Twente), Yaya Toure (Barcelona), Jean-Jacques Gosso (Monaco), Abdel Kader Keita (Galatasaray)

Forwards: Aruna Dindane (Lekhwiya), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Salomon Kalou (Chelsea), Gervinho (Lille), Emmanuel Kone (CFR Cluj).

Click here for the Ivory Coast team preview

Also Read:

Group Competitior Previews: Portugal, DPR Korea, Brazil

Group Preview: Group G Preview

File Photograph Copyright: Charles Nam

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.