The Worlds Favourite Playground

Friday, Jun 25th

Last update:12:32:52 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Germany announce 23 member squad travelling to World Cup

Germany announce 23 member squad travelling to World Cup

User Rating: / 0
podolski.jpgJoachim Loew announced the 23 members traveling along with him to carry the mantle of German hopes in South Africa. After winning both their warm up games this month the Germans are looking ready to have another solid campaign in one of sport's biggest extravaganzas.

The German squad has been blighted with injuries this post season. Inspirational Captain Michael Ballack was ruled out of the World Cup due to injury. Christian Traesch and Simon Rolfes who were present in the provisional squad, also got injured. Germany's first choice goal keeper Rene Adler bowed out due to a rib injury and after all this one wonders how would the German's fair amidst all this adversity. New Captain Phillip Lahm's appointment has been questioned and criticized and things haven't been as stable as a coach would like prior to a major tournament.

Loew decided to drop Andreas Beck, we all thought that Heiko Westermann's injury would have assured Beck a spot in the squad, but it wasn't to be. The German coach also surprisingly decided to go with 6 strikers. Dennis Aogo and Holger Badstuber have only two international caps between them having never previously been called up for the national team prior to the announcement of the provisional squad.

Germany are placed in Group D along with Australia, Ghana and Serbia. They will kick start their campaign against Australia on the 13th of June.


Goalkeepers: Joerg Butt (Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Schalke), Tim Wiese (Werder Bremen).

Defenders: Dennis Aogo (Hamburger SV), Holger Badstuber (Bayern Munich), Arne Friedrich (Hertha Berlin), Jerome Boateng (Hamburger SV), Marcell Jansen (Hamburger SV), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), Per Mertesacker (Werder Bremen), Serdar Tasci (Stuttgart).

Midfielders: Sami Khedira (Stuttgart), Toni Kroos (Bayer Leverkusen), Marko Marin (Werder Bremen), Mesut Oezil (Werder Bremen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern Munich), Piotr Trochowski (Hamburger SV).

Forwards: Cacau (Stuttgart), Mario Gomez (Bayern Munich), Stefan Kiessling (Bayer Leverkusen), Miroslav Klose (Bayern Munich), Thomas Mueller (Bayern Munich), Lukas Podolski (Cologne).

Read more about the team and their opponents

Also Read: Australia, Serbia, Ghana Team Previews

Group Preview: Group D preview

File Photograph Copyright: Tsutomu Takasu

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.