The Worlds Favourite Playground

Monday, Feb 17th

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Hosts South Africa announce 23 member squad for World Cup

Hosts South Africa announce 23 member squad for World Cup

User Rating: / 0
South Africa coach Carlos Albert Parreira announced on Tuesday the 23 members representing the nation in the FIFA World Cup to be held this month on home soil. Bafana Bafana have been unbeaten in the past 11 games which has given Parreira the liberty to choose the best from the available lot.

Former Porto striker and UEFA Champions League winner Benni McCarthy was a surprise omission form the squad which has been trimmed by 5 players from the original provisional list. 32-year old McCarthy is South Africa's leading goalscorer of all time and his omission comes as a huge shocker for the Bafana Bafana, who could do with some top flight experience in Europe. Other notable absentees were Arminia Bielefeld goalkeeper Rowen Fernandez and PAOK defender Bryce Moon who were both expected to make the cut. Left-back Innocent Mdledle and left-side midfielder Franklin Cale will also be watching their national team from the stands as they too failed to make the final list.

South Africa faces Denmark on 5th June in their final friendly match before the World Cup. They are placed in Group A in the tournament with Mexico, Uruguay and France.


Goalkeepers: Moeneeb Josephs (Orlando Pirates), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Shu-Aib Walters (Maritzburg United)

Defenders: Matthew Booth, Siboniso Gaxa (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongani Khumalo (SuperSport United), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa), Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth), Anele Ngcongoa (Racing Genk), Siyabonga Sangweni (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Lucas Thwala (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Lance Davids (Ajax Cape Town), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Fulham), Thanduyise Khuboni (Lamontville Golden Arrows), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns), Steven Pienaar (Everton), MacBeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs).

Forwards: Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyabonga Nomvete (Moroka Swallows), Bernard Parker (FC Twente).

Read more about the team and their opponents

Also Read: Uruguay, Mexico, France Team Previews

Group Preview: Group A Preview

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.