The Worlds Favourite Playground

Saturday, Feb 29th

Last update:04:12:24 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup South Korea annouce final 23 for World Cup

South Korea annouce final 23 for World Cup

User Rating: / 0
South Korea's coach Huh Jung-Moo announced on Tuesday the 23-man squad representing the nation in the FIFA World Cup this summer. South Korea are making their seventh straight World Cup finals appearance in South Africa. Their most successful trip to finals came in 2002, co-hosted by them, when they managed to reach the semi-finals, under the guidance of Dutch maestro Guus Hiddink. The Taegeuk Warriors had an excellent qualifying campaign finishing undefeated with 7 wins and 7 draws in total.

Huh has made the inclusion of veteran striker Lee Dong Gook, who missed the 2006 finals in Germany with a knee problem and was not a part of Hiddink's plans in the 2002 campaign. Defender Kang Ming-soo has also been called up after Kwak Tae-hwi was ruled out of the tournament with a knee injury. South Korea's hopes will be heavily relying on Manchester United midfielder Ji-Sung Park and the likes of Lee Chung Yong of Bolton Wanderers and Celtic's Ki Sung Yeing.

South Korea faces a tricky challenge in the group stages as they are alongside Diego Maradona's Argentina, Euro 2004 Winners Greece and the Super Eagles from Nigeria. South Korea have a better squad than in 2006 and are more physically drilled, organized and disciplined, especially at the back. They would be a tough nut to crack down and they will fancy their chances against Greece and Nigeria. South Korea open their World Cup campaign against Greece on 12th June.


Goalkeepers: Kim Young-kwang (Ulsan), Lee Woon-jae (Suwon), Jung Sung-ryong (Seongnam)

Defenders: Kim Dong-jin (Ulsan), Kim Hyung-il (Pohang), Oh Beom-seok (Ulsan), Lee Young-pyo (Al Hilal, Saudi Arabia), Lee Jung-soo (Kashima, Japan), Cha Doo-ri (Freiburg, Germany) Cho Yong-hyung (Jeju), Kang Min-soo (Suwon)

Midfielders: Ki Sung-yong (Celtic, Scotland), Kim Bo-kyung (Oita, Japan), Kim Nam-il (Tomsk, Russia), Kim Jae-sung (Pohang), Kim Jung-woo (Gwangju), Lee Chung-yong (Bolton, England), Park Ji-sung (Manchester United, England)

Forwards: Park Chu-young (Monaco, France), Ahn Jung-hwan (Dalian, China), Lee Seung-ryul (Seoul), Yeom Ki-hun (Suwon), Lee Dong-gook (Jeonbuk).

Read more about the team and their opponents

Also Read:

Argentina, Greece, Nigeria

Group Preview: Group B preview

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.