The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Aug 12th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Paraguay announce 23 member squad for the World Cup

Paraguay announce 23 member squad for the World Cup

User Rating: / 0
Paraguay coach Gerardo Martino announced on Monday the 23 member squad representing Paraguay in the FIFA World Cup this summer. The Paraguayans have won 1, lost 1 and drawn 1 of their pre-World Cup warm up games and the Argentina born coach Martino has had enough opportunities to weigh up his options.

Osvaldo Martinez was surprisingly omitted from the squad despite good performances at club level. Lucas Barrios, who only recently made his debut for the national team gets to go to South Africa after some stellar performances in his first 2 international games. Argentina-based quartet Eduardo Ledesma (Lanus), Marcos Caceres (Racing Club), Marcelo Estigarribia and Jorge Achucarro (both Newell's Old Boys) have all been omitted from the 23 member  squad, as have Libertad midfielder Sergio Aquino and Olimpia defender Julio Manzur.

Paraguay are placed in Group F along with New Zealand, Italy and Slovakia. After exiting in the group stages last time around they would want to at least make it to the knockout rounds this time and they have a relatively easy group in front of them. They take on Greece in Switzerland before heading to South Africa for the show piece event.


Goalkeepers: Justo Villa (Valladolid), Aldo Bobadilla (Independiente Medellin), Diego Barreto (Cerro Porteno).

Defenders: Julio Cesar Caceres (Atletico Mineiro), Denis Caniza (Leon), Dario Veron (Pumas), Paulo Da Silva (Sunderland), Claudio Morel (Boca Juniors), Carlos Bonet (Olimpia), Aureliano Torres (San Lorenzo), Antolin Alcaraz (Brugge).

Midfielders: Cristian Riveros (Sunderland), Jonathan Santana (Wolfsburg), Enrique Vera (Liga de Quito), Victor Caceres (Libertad), Nestor Ortigoza (Argentinos Juniors), Edgar Barreto (Atalanta).

Forwards: Roque Santa Cruz (Manchester City), Oscar Cardozo (Benfica), Nelson Haedo Valdez (Borussia Dortmund), Rodolfo Gamarra (Libertad), Lucas Barrios (Borussia Dormund), Edgar Benitez (Pachuca).

Read more about the team and their opponents

Also Read:

Italy, Slovakia, New Zealand

Group Preview: Group B preview

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.