The Worlds Favourite Playground

Wednesday, Aug 12th

Last update:05:57:36 PM GMT

You are here: Football FIFA World Cup Ghana announce 23 member squad for World Cup

Ghana announce 23 member squad for World Cup

User Rating: / 0
Coach Milovan Rajevac announced his 23 member squad making the trip to the FIFA World Cup in South Africa. The Black Stars are yet to play their two warm up games in Europe against the Netherlands and Latvia and it is difficult to see on what basis the coach has decided to take his decisions on squad selection. They haven't played a game for the last 2 months together and 56-year old Rajevac has had to make swift decisions based on domestic form to finalize his squad of 23 as the deadline to give in the names to FIFA edges closer.

Six players were struck off from the provisional squad of 30 when the teams were announced. A shock announcement was the inclusion of uncapped and dual citizenship status holder Kevin-Prince Boateng. The Portsmouth midfielder could get his first cap against the Oranje in their upcoming warm up game. Haminu Draman and Udinese midfielder Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu were overlooked by Rajevac as Germany boar Boateng was give a place in the team. Stephen Adams, Eric Addo, Bernard Kumordzi and Hearts striker Laryea Kingston were also slashed out from the initial squad of 30 players.

With the absence of superstar Michael Essien, spirits will definitely be low in the Ghanaian camp, but their performances in 2006 will serve as reminder to everyone to not take them lightly. Ghana are placed in Group D alongside Germany, Australia and Serbia. They kick start their World Cup campaign against the Serbians on the 13th of June.


Goalkeepers - Richard Kingston (Wigan Athletic), Daniel Adjei (Liberty Professionals), Stephen Ahorlu (Hearts of Lions)

Defenders - Samuel Inkoom (Basle), Hans Sarpei (Bayer Leverkusen), Lee Addy (Bechem Chelsea), John Mensah (Sunderland), Rahim Ayew (Zamalek), Isaac Vorsah (Hoffenheim), John Pantsil (Fulham), Jonathan (Mensah Granada)

Midfielders - Dede Ayew (Arlese Avignon), Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese), Stephen Appiah (Bologna), Anthony Annan (Rosenborg), Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan), Quincy Owusu-Abeyie (Al Sadd), Derek Boateng (Getafe), Kevin-Prince Boateng (Portsmouth)

Strikers - Prince Tagoe (Hoffenheim), Asamoah Gyan (Rennes), Dominic Adiyiah (AC Milan), Matthew Amoah (NAC Breda)

Read more about the Team and their opponents in our detailed team preview

Also Read: Germany, Australia, Serbia Team Previews

Group D preview

This article is the exclusive copyright of and permission to reproduce the same has not been granted.