The Worlds Favourite Playground

Tuesday, Oct 26th

Last update:06:27:22 AM GMT

You are here: Home News Bytes Colin Cowdrey inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame

Colin Cowdrey inducted into Cricket Hall of Fame

User Rating: / 0
Colin Cowdrey was formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame at Lord's on Wednesday evening. Cowdrey's son, Chris, the former England, Glamorgan and Kent player, received the cap on behalf of his father at the 2009 Cowdrey Lecture at Lord's last night.

Colin Cowdrey's 21-year Test caree r for England spanned from 1954 to 1975 and in that time he scored 7,624 runs in 114 Tests averaging 44.06. He scored 22 centuries and 38 fifties and was the first player to appear in 100 Tests and passed fellow Hall of Famer Wally Hammond to become Test cricket's leading run-scorer.

The right-hand batsman captained England in 27 Tests, played 692 first-class matches scoring 42,719 runs at an average of 44.06 and remained heavily involved with the game after his playing career concluded at the age of 42.

Speaking at the occasion Chris said, "It is a proud moment for me to be here to accept this cap on behalf of my father.

"And how proud he would have been to be included in the ICC's Cricket Hall of Fame, if only so he could challenge for a place in England's top seven of all time.

"I think he'd be delighted by how the spirit of cricket has been embraced and how increasingly it is becoming more recognised as a means towards protecting everything that is good about our great game.

"I'd like to thank the ICC very much on behalf of my father and may the spirit of cricket live on," he said.

Cowdrey was president of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) in 1986 and later became the first chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC), playing an integral part in the ICC's history of separating the world's governing body from the MCC. His efforts in cricket were recognised in 1992 when he received a knighthood and later in 1997 he became the first English cricketer to be made a life peer.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame - inductees: Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O'Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.